10 Things I Know To Be True

  1. I know that kissing a stranger like they are the love of your life can be the best form of therapy. But don’t kiss all your best friend’s friends while he’s away. What will you do when he comes back?
  2. I know that sometimes the reason your office is such a mess is because a monkey comes in through the window and wreaks havoc when you’re away.
  3. I know that dark chocolate and/or two glasses of sweet red wine can solve almost anything. I also know that dark chocolate and/or two glasses of sweet red wine can’t fix everything.
  4. I know that I love when the sun shines.
  5. I know that my mind wanders but my heart’s in the right place.
  6. I know that sleeping without a hairnet makes me feel like I can do anything.
  7. I know that it all takes effort, and you have to ask for what you want.
  8. I know that east or west, laughter is best.
  9. I know that F. Scott Fitzgerald had it right when he said: For what it’s worth: it’s never too late to be whoever you want to be. I hope you live a life you’re proud of, and if you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.
    I know that I put the star in starting over, and over.*
  10. I know that there is love.

When I die, I hope that they say that I loved truly and I loved honestly.

*This line is borrowed from the poem ‘If I Should Have A Daughter’ by Sarah Kay, 2011.
Originally written in April, 2014.

Inspired by the following TEDtalk:

 

2 thoughts on “10 Things I Know To Be True

Leave a comment